Archive for February 17, 2011

Brief Activity on Graphing Lines

This week my elementary algebra classes are in the middle of learning to graph lines. I make a big deal about finding the most efficient way to graph a particular line:

  • Should you graph this line by using its slope or its intercepts?
  • Is this line horizontal or vertical?

I emphasize this in class because it helps students to develop the critical thinking that they need in order to be successful in an introductory statistics class.

This Wednesday I walked into class and asked each student to take out a sheet of paper. I wrote the following prompt on the board.

Write the equation of a line that …
1) is horizontal.
2) you would graph using its x- and y-intercepts,
3) is vertical.
4) that you would graph using its slope and y-intercept.

I gave them 3 minutes to write their answers for the 4 questions. Many of my students did well, but there were a few that struggled with a couple of answers and a few more students that didn’t know where to begin. I then put the students together with their groups of 4 and asked them to assemble one common set of equations. This gave those students who were struggling to hear the insight of their classmates. I think it was really effective, and noticed that the graphing went much smoother today when we were discussing parallel and perpendicular lines.

Students who struggle on this exam often struggle because they can’t figure out how to get started, and I think this is because they haven’t really thought about how to choose an efficient technique for graphing a particular line. I’ll let you know how it goes.

Do you have experience with activities to help students become efficient graphers? Are you a student who is unsure how to choose the most efficient technique to graph a line quickly and accurately? Please leave a comment, or reach me through the contact page at my web site – georgewoodbury.com.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

February 17, 2011 at 1:54 pm 4 comments


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,504 other subscribers
February 2011
M T W T F S S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Categories