This Fall’s Blog Schedule

August 2, 2010 at 9:37 am 1 comment

This semester I plan to blog 5 days a week (M-F).

Monday: MyMathLab
On Monday I will share strategies for successfully incorporating MyMathLab into your course, including how-to articles, successful strategies, updates on my own classes, and hopefully a question and answer article.

Tuesday: Study Skills
I strongly believe that study skill instruction needs to be incorporated into developmental math classes. Study skills can be taught without sacrificing a great amount of classroom time – the time I spend at the beginning of the semester is returned to me at the end of the semester when I have a class full of outstanding and prepared students.
I will share advice for incorporating study skills into your course, as well as some blogs aimed directly at students who want to improve their skills.

Wednesday: General Teaching
On Wednesday I will share course specific ideas for teaching community college mathematics. These may be big picture ideas like incorporating student contracts, or topic related ideas such as how to teach addition of rational expressions.

Thursday: Creating a Community of Learners
One of the best ways to encourage success in developmental mathematics classes is to create a sense of community among the students. This Fall I am participating in a Faculty Interest Group (FIG) with a Spanish instructor that will investigate the effect of community on student confidence and success. I will share results and findings as the semester progresses. I will also share some tips for creating a sense of community, as well as the reasons I feel this is so important.

Friday: Technology
Among the topics I plan to include on Friday are Twitter, Facebook, and StatCrunch.

I think that’s a pretty good lineup, but if you have any ideas or suggestions I would love to hear them. If so, please leave a comment or reach me through the contact page at my web site – georgewoodbury.com.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: General Teaching, Math, MyMathLab, study skills. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Reloading For The New Semester Creating a Community of Learners

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Susan McCourt  |  August 2, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    Very ambitious! And inspiring. I look forward to learning more from you!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,504 other subscribers
August 2010
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories