Start of the Semester

January 30, 2012 at 9:53 am Leave a comment

This semester I have been assigning reading homework. Students have to answer vocabulary questions and outline procedures that will be covered in the next class period. Essentially, I am having them read ahead. I also include a handful of warm-up problems that focus on the prerequisites for that section. (I get mine from a publisher workbook that goes with the textbook. On MyMathLab it is available under Instructor Resources. I am sure other textbooks/publishers provide similar material.)

I give my students the first 5 minutes of class to discuss their answers with their groups. I then take attendance, one group at a time, and ask for one of the answers. It is working out to be a great way to get students to warm up for class, and my classes seem to be more participatory this semester.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: General Teaching, Math. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , .

Geogebra – Graphing Absolute Value Functions ICTCM & What’s On The Way

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


