Thoughts on Test Retakes – Mastery Learning

September 13, 2011 at 11:04 am Leave a comment

Edit: Blog has been changed to ensure anonymity of my students and their information. Thanks for the heads up! – GW

Last week, in my intermediate algebra class, I gave my first batch of retests to students who qualified to retake it. These were students who failed the first test (less than 70%) but had satisfactory homework scores (90% or higher) and satisfactory quiz scores (70% or higher). If a student passes the retake, they earn 1 point for the semester.

Each of the students who qualified for the retest improved from their original attempt, which I suppose is to be expected. I have seen signs that the upcoming second exam will be better for all of these students – a carryover effect. They are asking more questions in class and after class, and they seem to be doing their homework from a perspective of trying to understand the material rather than simply getting a high score.

In order to retake the test, I had students rework their original exams, explaining their errors in their own words. I also had them complete a short assignment before showing up for the retest. On the next exam, I will use a personalized HW/Quiz in MyMathLab as the ticket to come in for the retest.

Do you allow students to retake exams? If so, how do students qualify for that?

Game Design Sidebar

On a side note, my students who passed the first test told me that the perk of a day off on retest day was a nice reward that they really appreciated!

– George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: Math. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Guest Blog – Game Development: Your work will make others play Math Teachers – Solve This (#1)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories


