Using Tokens in Math Class

September 6, 2011 at 1:44 pm Leave a comment

As I go through the process of attempting to gamify my class, I came up with an idea that I am pretty happy with. After the first test, I announced that students who earned all 3 points on the first test have earned a “magic token”. (To see how grading works in this class, see my previous blog entry here: https://georgewoodbury.wordpress.com/2011/08/16/tests-in-my-mastery-based-class/ .)

What is a token worth?

A student can cash in his or her token for a 1-day extension on a single homework assignment or quiz.

What if I don’t use the token this test?

If the student does not use the token, they can be saved up for a bigger reward. I didn’t mention what the reward would be to keep their interest and wonder, but I’m thinking it will be something like skipping a problem.

Impact on Students

I know that this has motivated many of the students who scored below 3 points on the first test. The students who already have tokens are looking forward to a chance to use them for something bigger and better.

Currently tokens are a digital currency, but I am planning on heading down to the local party store and getting real tokens to hand out. Should be fun!

– George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: General Teaching, Math, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Estimating the Mean & Standard Deviation from a Frequency Distribution? September 11th

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories


