The Teacher Becomes The Student

May 31, 2011 at 7:26 pm 4 comments

For the first time in a long time, I am on the other side of the desk. Since our college decided to cancel the summer session, I have some free time on my hands. I decided to take Intro to Econ & Intro to Podcasting.

I chose Econ because I felt that it would add depth to the math courses I teach. It will turn into a sort of MyMathLab experiment for me as it turns out. The class uses MyEconLab, and I am trying to take the class using only the eBook on MyEconLab. That’s right, no actual textbook. As I read the eBook, I work my way through the Study Plan exercises. I have found that it helps my reading comprehension. I’ll update my progress as I go, but I did make it through all of the homework for test 1 so I decided to take it. I scored 97.5%, and I feel like I really understand the material.

As far as podcasting goes, my plan is to incorporate podcasts to help my students understand concepts before they come to class. In other words, this will be part of my plan to flip the classroom. In the big picture I am thinking that these podcasts will help developmental math students around the world to gain understanding. We’ll see.

I do enjoy being on the other side of the desk … it’s been a long time.

– George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: MyMathLab. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Final Exam Review for Elementary Algebra Does It Have To Be Boring?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. AnnMaria  |  May 31, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    I try to take a class every now and then just to get that feeling of being unsure what is going on, needing to budget my time and other aspects of being a student it’s easy to forget after 20+ years. As you say, it helps to be on the other side of the desk for a change

    Reply
  • 2. Whit Ford  |  June 19, 2011 at 7:32 am

    I too have found every “student opportunity” to be invaluable as a teacher. Whether it is taking a music lesson, a seminar, or a class – I learn a ton by noting my reactions to praise and criticism, to how my work is assessed, and to how my classmates interact. Every teacher should become a student at least once a year!

    Reply
  • 3. Anonymous  |  December 1, 2011 at 9:38 am

    I’d push even further than “Every teacher should become a student at least once a year”.

    I’m in strong agreement with Isaac Asimov on this one: education is not exclusively for young people. It’s not childish to learn, think, have ideas, and make mistakes. Learning should be done continuously.

    Reply
    • 4. georgewoodbury  |  December 2, 2011 at 7:33 am

      I agree! I moved on to take another class this fall, and I’ve learned so much more than Economics.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


