Personalized Final Exam Review – Part 2

May 5, 2011 at 9:42 am Leave a comment

Yesterday I blogged about how I am using MyMathLab in my arithmetic class to create personalized final reviews. Some blog & Twitter comments have inspired me to follow up with a blog on alternate ways to get this done.

To do this in an automated way, I’m sure that the other publishers have ways to get this done. Can it be done in Google docs? I’m not sure. Basically, what we need to determine is whether or not we can have Google Docs direct students to a subset of problems based on a student’s score on an initial quiz. Google experts – Can this be done?

I think that this could be done using YouTube’s quizzing feature. If the student selects the correct answer, the link could take the student to the next type of problem. If the student selects an incorrect answer, you could lead them to a video that explains the type of problem and provides the students with practice problems. I’m looking to make a review for my online elementary algebra students, and if time permits I’ll give this a try.

This could definitely be done by paper. You could assign students to do the problems in the book’s chapter test. Depending on which questions the student got incorrect, the student could be given a second assignment from the book’s chapter review. Or the section that the problem came from. This could easily be done with problems you create and type yourself. For example, if you missed question 1 then you need to do problems 1-3 on the follow up. If you got question 1 correct, skip problems 1-3 on the follow up.

Does anyone have other ideas for automating this process without using publisher provided software? Any Google Docs experts who know how to set up such a system? Please leave a comment, or reach me through the contact page at my web site – georgewoodbury.com.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: General Teaching, Math. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Using Personalized Homework in MyMathLab to Review for the Final Exam Rational Expressions, Equations, & Word Problems

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


