Using Personalized Homework in MyMathLab to Review for the Final Exam

May 4, 2011 at 9:35 am 2 comments

I am currently teaching an arithmetic class at my college. We cover whole numbers, fractions, decimals, and percents in addition to study skills. The class is intended to help students who are underprepared to begin our sequence in prealgebra. The final exam is set for next Tuesday, and so it was time to begin reviewing for the final exam.

I broke the course into 5 units and created a review homework assignment for each unit. The assignment contains 3 problems for each objective. I then created a quiz that contains 1 problem from each objective and associated it with the homework assignment. Students begin by taking the quiz, and for each question they get correct the problems on the same objective are taken off the homework assignment. Then students can review only the problems they struggled with, and are able to use all the MyMathLab learning aids. Essentially my students are getting a personalized review assignment. Feedback from students is that they love this set up. Hopefully it leads to great scores on the final exam.

If you have any questions about personalized homework assignments inMyMathLab, drop me a line. You can leave a comment, or reach me through the contact page at my web site – georgewoodbury.com.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Monday (during the semester) I post an article related to MyMathLab on my blog. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: Math, MyMathLab. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Hypothesis Test – Single Proportion (p-value) Personalized Final Exam Review – Part 2

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Kristen  |  May 4, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    Is this all paper-based review? I’m trying to figure out a way to do some personalized review at the beginning of next year for my precalculus classes and I like your description of what you’re doing. I’d love to figure out a way to be able to do this all online (with a google doc or something) and make it more automated. If you have any advice I’d love to know!

    Thanks!
    Kristen

    Reply
  • […] 5, 2011 Yesterday I blogged about how I am using MyMathLab in my arithmetic class to create personalized final reviews. Some blog & Twitter comments have inspired me to follow up with a blog on alternate ways to […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

May 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


