MyMathLab – Tracking Views

February 7, 2011 at 10:54 am Leave a comment

I was at a conference last fall and an instructor commented to me that he posts lots of his own material in his MyMathLab courses, but he has no idea whether students were looking at them or not. (He suspected that few students were using his materials.) There is a way to track your students’ viewing of materials that you have posted, and I’ll go through the steps for you.

When you are adding a file to your MyMathLab course (to Chapter Contents, eBook, or eText, depending on the book you are using), there is the option to turn on tracking in the third section of the page. Change the option for tracking the number of views to Yes.

Once you have enabled tracking, you can view who has viewed your document. You can also track the total number of views. From your Control Panel, click on Chapter Contents (or eBook or eText, depending on your set up). For your document, a button labeled Tracking will be displayed.

You can establish a start/end date, as well as selecting particular students. Here are the results for a Solution Key for a Practice Test I gave last week. (A little disappointed with the number of views. We’ll see how they do today.)

Class View Results

If you have any questions about tracking, drop me a line. You can leave a comment, or reach me through the contact page at my web site – georgewoodbury.com.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Monday (during the semester) I post an article related to MyMathLab on my blog. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: Math, MyMathLab. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Word Problems (1) – How to Read Rate/Time/Distance – 1 Variable

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Categories


