MyMathLab – Preparing For The Final

November 29, 2010 at 6:49 am 1 comment

We’re down to the last two weeks of the semester, so I thought I would share some of the ways I use MyMathLab to help my students prepare for their final exam.

SLO Quizzes

During the last few weeks of the semester I release a series of SLO (Student Learning Outcome) Quizzes. There are roughly 10 quizzes, and each quiz is focused on a specific topic, such as simplifying radical expressions, solving quadratic equations, or graphing linear equations. This has been a great way to help students to prepare for the final exam. Essentially the series of quizzes ends up as a gigantic final review, but because it counts towards the grades of my students they do not view it as an optional review. (Because, seriously, who really needs to review?) My students can take these quizzes as often as they would like, and only the highest score counts towards their grade.

I sometimes offer different incentives related to these quizzes. For my online students I offer 1 extra point on the final exam for each score above 85%. In my on campus intermediate algebra students I am offering 10 points on their final exam if all eleven of their scores are above 85%.

Reopen Old Assignments or Quizzes

In my online class, I reopen all of the homework assignments and quizzes from the second half of the class. This helps out students who missed some work because of technology issues, family emergencies, etcetera. It also encourages students to do more work, and that can only help their performance on their final exam.

In some of my traditional classes I reopen old quizzes only. Because students are required to rework the entire quiz, and not just single problems they missed, it requires significant effort on the part of the student. The learning aids are not available, so I do not have students trying to “game” MyMathLab.

Posting Final Reviews, Answer Keys, & Advice

I post a final review and answer key as pdf files in the Chapter Contents section of MyMathLab. (This might be labeled as eBook or eText in your course.) I turn on the tracking option so I can see which students have accessed these documents.

I also type up some documents for particular types of problems, offering general advice on strategy. I also share complete solutions of certain problems.

I do also create an optional MyMathLab homework assignment that mimics my printed review.

Summary

Next week I’ll share some of the built-in features of MyMathLab that students can use to help prepare for their final exam.

How do you use MyMathLab to help your students prepare for their final exam? Please leave a comment, or reach me through the contact page at my web site – georgewoodbury.com.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Monday I post an article related to MyMathLab on my blog. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: Math, MyMathLab. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Math Study Skills – Test Preparation Activity Math Study Skills – Weekly Calendar (AMATYC)

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories


