MyMathLab – Reopening Past Due Assignments

November 22, 2010 at 6:31 am Leave a comment

As a rule, I do not reopen assignments for students after the deadline unless there is a major power outage or Course Compass down time. However, I do reopen old assignments and quizzes at the end of the semester. Today’s blog focuses on the “why” and “how”.

During the last week of the semester I often reopen all old assignments and quizzes. (This is done after all of the contract periods are done, so students who work on these assignments do not affect any of their contract status.) There are some clear benefits to this approach.

  • Students think they are catching up on old work, but they are actually starting to review for the final exam.
  • I don’t have to deal with students asking for extensions. I do let them know when they ask for an extension that they will have a chance to finish this up at the end of the semester.

I always use this approach for my online classes. I have a colleague that only reopens quizzes and not homework assignments, and he’s really happy with this approach.

MyMathLab’s Homework/Test Manager makes this quite easy to do. Simply select the assignments and quizzes you want to reopen, and batch change the due dates all at the same time.

Do you reopen homework assignments and quizzes for your students? What is your policy? Please leave a comment, or reach me through the contact page at my web site – georgewoodbury.com.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Monday I post an article related to MyMathLab on my blog. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: Math, MyMathLab. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Geogebra Math Study Skills – Test Preparation Activity

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories


