Geogebra

November 19, 2010 at 9:50 am 6 comments

OK, I’ve been a little busy on a few projects and I’ve had a little trouble getting to some of the things on my “To Do When I Get A Chance” list. At the top of my list is learning to use Geogebra. Geogebra is an interactive algebra/geometry program that can be used to help students develop an understanding of mathematics.

Geogebra can be downloaded for free, but you can also run it on their web site. Go to www.geogebra.org to get started.

There are so many tutorials available online that it is almost overwhelming. I’d recommend looking at the various video tutorials that are available on YouTube.

It took me 10 minutes to make an applet to help my students learn how to shift exponential functions. If you want to check it out, here is the page: http://georgewoodbury.com/exponential_function_1.html . It needs some improvement (I want to show more of quadrants 3 & 4), but it is easy to edit the geogebra file and create a new html page with those changes.Here’s a quick snapshot of the screen.

It seems like the possibilities are endless – shifting graphs in trigonometry, a demo that explains the mean value theorem conceptually, an exploration of slope in algebra, …

Have you used Geogebra to help teach your classes? What topics have you worked with? Do you have any pointers to share with a newcomer? Please share your experience and leave a comment, or you can reach me through the contact page on my website .

-George

I am a mathematics instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Friday I will blog about technology, inside and outside of the classroom. Let me know if there are other topics you’d like me to cover by leaving a comment or by reaching me through the contact page on my website: georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: Math, technology. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Discovery Learning – Rational Expressions MyMathLab – Reopening Past Due Assignments

6 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories


