It’s AMATYC Week!

November 8, 2010 at 6:39 am 2 comments

My favorite conference, without a doubt, is the AMATYC (American Mathematical Association of Two Year Colleges) Conference that takes place each fall. This week AMATYC will be in Boston.

One of the reasons I love this conference is the wide array of presentations. No matter your areas of interest, you will find plenty of opportunities to learn. As I looked through the program I found many talks that focus on developmental mathematics, developing a community of learners, and incorporating technology into the classroom – all hot topics for me.

Another popular topic this year are innovative teaching and learning techniques. AMATYC has an Innovative Teaching and Learning Committee, and the ITLC is directly responsible for a couple of sessions. There are many other sessions that would qualify as innovative approaches to me. Innovation, when the traditional approaches seem to be less and less effective each year, is crucial for success.

There don’t seem to be as many study skills talks as in the past, but I will be hosting a 2-hour workshop on the topic on Thursday morning (9 am). I’ll be going over activities and assignments that can be incorporated into developmental mathematics classes to improve/develop out students’ study skills without having to cut material.

If you are in town, come by and say hi. Besides my Thursday morning presentation, I’ll also be presiding at Mark Coglan’s workshop (Ten Cooperative Learning Techniques for Building Classroom Communities) on Friday afternoon at 2:15. You can also catch me in the Pearson booth, where I’ll be spending a lot of time.

-George

I’ll be blogging about AMATYC all week. Next week I will return to my regular schedule, meaning that next Monday I will have a MyMathLab related blog. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: Math. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Using Camtasia in Your Math Class Intro to my 2010 AMATYC Study Skills Workshop

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary Beth Orrange  |  November 8, 2010 at 8:17 am

    Thanks George for the ITLC publicity! I appreciate it!

    Mary Beth

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories


