Using Camtasia in Your Math Class

November 5, 2010 at 9:19 am 2 comments

A couple of weeks ago I blogged about Using Jing in Your Math Class. Some of the pros included it being free and having the ability to easily share screen shots or short videos with people of your choice.

Today I will be blogging about Camtasia, which is also produced by TechSmith. (The Camtasia Studio is not free, but there is a 30 day free trial available on their web site.) I have used Camtasia to record several videos that I have posted on my YouTube channel. Camtasia videos can also be shared using Screencast.com.

One huge advantage with Camtasia is the ability to edit your videos before sharing. You can fix audio errors, splice videos together, add title screens, … I particularly like the PowerPoint plug-in which makes it really easy to record from a PowerPoint presentation.

Camtasia can automatically transcribe your video’s audio file into 508-compliant open or closed captions. You can type your own captions as well.

Camtasia allows you to insert Flash quizzes at any point in your Screencast. I have not used this feature yet, but it seems like that would be a great way to make “demo” videos more interactive. You could ask your students to think about what step comes next, and provide them with a series of options.

The videos I have created are mostly from PowerPoint presentations. I type up problems and their solutions using MathType. I set up the PowerPoint presentation to show one line at a time, and I voice over the solution as I click my way through. (By the way, I use this sort of PowerPoint presentation in class on review days as well. They are very powerful!)

I have also created some videos to show my students how to type particular expressions in MyMathLab, how to graph lines and parabolas in MyMathLab, and even solve particular problems presented to students in MyMathLab.

I purchased the Camtasia Studio (as well as Snag It) after picking up a discount code at an AMATYC conference. I found it to be well worth the money. Camtasia Studio currently sells for $179 (educator pricing), and I received an additional percentage discount on top of the educator price at the time.

Have you used Camtasia to help teach your classes? Do you want to share your experience? Perhaps you have used a free/less expensive alternative to Camtasia that you would like to share. Please leave a comment, or you can reach me through the contact page on my website .

-George

I am a mathematics instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Friday I will blog about technology, inside and outside of the classroom. Let me know if there are other topics you’d like me to cover by leaving a comment or by reaching me through the contact page on my website: georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: Math, technology. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Helping a Struggling Student – Community of Learners It’s AMATYC Week!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. kso_user  |  November 6, 2010 at 3:41 pm

    Camtasia was nice, but too expensive. I found alertnative to it called DemoCreator 3 which installs as a freeware with small watermark in output or shareware for $99.95. Anyone can download it here: http://www.binarynow.com/products/democreator/

    Reply
    • 2. georgewoodbury  |  November 6, 2010 at 4:19 pm

      Thanks – I’ll include this in my “free/low-cost alternatives” blog!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories


