Student Contract for the Final Exam

November 1, 2010 at 5:39 am Leave a comment

I was speaking at a regional MyMathLab workshop last month about my work with Student Contracts, which I now use on a test by test basis. An instructor asked me if I ever used a student contract for the final exam, and I answered no. To be honest, I was surprised that I had not done this before because it’s a fantastic idea.

I blogged last week about the Student Learning Outcome (SLO) Quizzes that I give in MyMathLab. This semester I will develop a student contract based on these quizzes. The main requirement will be a score of 90% or higher on each of the 9 or 10 quizzes, and the reward will be a bump of 10 points on their final exam score. (I did think about giving 1 point for each score of 90% or higher, but I think it would be better to require this performance on ALL of the quizzes.)

I’ll let you know how it goes when the semester ends.

Summary

Do you any questions about Student Contracts? Please leave a comment, or reach me through the contact page at my web site – georgewoodbury.com.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Monday I post an article related to MyMathLab on my blog. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: Math, MyMathLab. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Thanks for Reading – October Math Study Skills – Time Management (Wrap Up)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

November 2010
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Categories


