Online Graphing Site – WebGraphing.com

October 29, 2010 at 7:19 am 4 comments

I recently stumbled across an online graphing site – WebGraphing.com. It is a free site, although you will need to register in order to access many of the features.

It can graph any function you would run into in an algebra or trigonometry course, including piecewise functions. You can also graph multiple functions on the same graph.

One tool I have been searching for has been a number line generator, and WebGraphing.com really nails it. For instance, if you type |x-2| \ge 5, it produces the following graph, and lists the solution x \le -3 OR x \ge 7.

It also handles inequalities in two variables, including systems of inequalities.

The interface is easy enough to use, and there are plenty of examples to view. Give it a try and let me know what you think.

-George

I am a mathematics instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Friday I will blog about technology, inside and outside of the classroom. Let me know if there are other topics you’d like me to cover by leaving a comment or by reaching me through the contact page on my website.

Entry filed under: Math, technology. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Group Warm Up – Community of Learners Thanks for Reading – October

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diane Bauman  |  October 29, 2010 at 8:50 am

    Thanks for the link – I am always looking for a good graphing tool to use for my notes that I put up online. I can type in the equations and such in Word but then had trouble with graphs. I guess I can take screenshots and use them in my notes?

    Reply
    • 2. georgewoodbury  |  October 29, 2010 at 8:51 am

      When the graph comes up, I right-click on it and can save it to my computer.

      Reply
  • 3. j edward ladenburger  |  October 29, 2010 at 9:50 am

    Of course, http://www.wolframalpha.com is another very powerful free graphing tool 🙂

    Wolfram Alpha Example

    Reply
    • 4. georgewoodbury  |  October 29, 2010 at 10:12 am

      Absolutely, but this is a great tool for getting customizable graphs that I can copy & paste into documents or exams. I will blog on W|A at some point.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories


