Using MyMathLab to Improve Test Reviews

October 18, 2010 at 5:46 am Leave a comment

This weekend I was at the Cleveland Math Rockstars meeting, and in one session we were discussing an effective use of MyMathLab came up that has to be shared. I was hosting a session on Incorporating Study Skills into Math Classes and we were discussing how students should prepare for exams.I had mentioned that I typically have a review day on the day before a test and this is the strategy that we discussed.

I give a MyMathLab quiz that covers the entire chapter. I usually have the quiz due on the day of the exam so my students can continue to practice. However, one attendant suggested having the quiz due before the review day, and I had a light bulb moment. If the quiz is due before the review day, a quick look at the Item Analysis can help me to decide how to shape my review. I know which problems gave my students a hard time and I should focus on those problems. (I already check Item Analysis, but the snapshot it provides is not complete as some/many students wait to take the quiz until the last minute.)

I have decided to make this change in my classes. To take care of my desire for students to be able to continue to practice I will give out a password during the review session that will enable students to continue to work on their quizzes that night.

Do you use Item Analysis in an innovative way? Do you have any test review ideas that you would like to share? Please leave a comment, or reach me through the contact page at my web site – georgewoodbury.com.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Monday I post an article related to MyMathLab on my blog. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: Math, MyMathLab. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

MyMathLab’s Instructor Exchange Math Study Skills – Time Management (Part 3)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Categories


