MyMathLab – Dropping Lowest Scores

August 30, 2010 at 9:55 am Leave a comment

MyMathLab has a gradebook feature that allows you to drop scores for students. You can drop up to 5 HW grades, 5 quiz grades, and 5 test grades. If you have such a policy built into your grading policy, MyMathLab makes it easy to drop these scores.

To drop scores:

  • Go to your MyMathLab Gradebook.
  • Select “Drop Lowest Scores” from the “More Gradebook Tools” drop down menu.
  • Select the number and type of grades to drop.
  • Click the “Drop Lowest Scores” button.

MyMathLab will only drop the lowest scores to that point in the semester, you will have to repeat the procedure later in the semester. I recommend waiting until the end of the semester to drop the lowest grades.

A Great Way To Deal With Missed Deadlines

I have a colleague that drops the lowest 5 homework grades at the end of the semester. This way, when a student misses a deadline and asks for an extension, he tells the student that this will be one of the grades he drops.

My Take

I have never dropped grades, but it is appealing. It can help students who find themselves in a time crunch. Essentially dropping 3 scores would give students 3 free passes to use throughout the semester as they see fit. I suppose I’m still stuck on the notion that every assignment is important, and needs to be treated by the students as such.

What do you think? Do you drop student grades? Do you have any questions on the procedure of dropping lowest scores on MyMathLab, or the strategy involved in it? Please leave a comment, or reach me through the contact page at my web site – georgewoodbury.com.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Monday I post an article related to MyMathLab on my blog. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: Math, MyMathLab. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Starting With StatCrunch Math Study Skills – Note Cards (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


