Twitter Use This Semester

August 20, 2010 at 11:10 am 1 comment

Last week I shared my plans for using Facebook in my classes. (It’s going pretty well so far – my students are using Facebook to post their answers to writing questions this week.) I am also using Twitter in my classes this semester.

Summaries of Daily “Lectures”

After each class I post summaries of the material we covered. (I use quotes around the word Lectures because I don’t really lecture, my classes are much more interactive than that.) If you’d like to follow along, I am using the hashtag #cos200 in elementary algebra and the hashtag #cos230 in intermediate algebra. I also post homework assignments, reminders, and schedule updates.

Answering Homework Questions

Since the semester has just begun I have not had the opportunity to do this yet. If a student sends me a question that I feel the whole class can benefit from, I will share my answer via Twitter. If it cannot be done in 140 characters, I can take a quick photo or even record a Jing video to share my advice. The Jing videos will be really handy with MyMathLab as I can show the students exactly what is happening on the screen.

Communication Between Students

I have chosen Facebook to be the tool to encourage communication between students, but Twitter could serve the same purpose. Students could use the hashtag for their class to send comments or questions to the class, or even send direct messages (DM) to students in their group.

Want To Follow Me?

If you would like to follow me on Twitter, just click on the link.

Summary

Are you using Twitter in your classes? How do you use it? Are there any benefits that you have observed? I invite you to share your thoughts – please leave your comment or you can reach me through the contact page on my website .

-George

I am a mathematics instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Friday I will blog about technology, inside and outside of the classroom. Let me know if there are other topics you’d like me to cover by leaving a comment or by reaching me through the contact page on my website.

Entry filed under: Math, technology. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Building A Community Of Learners – Week 1 MyMathLab Coordinator Courses

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


