An Inspiring Moment On Day One

August 16, 2010 at 4:46 pm 1 comment

Today was the first day of class at College of the Sequoias, and I always give my fullest effort to get my students excited about my classes and about learning. This afternoon I was walking back from my last class of the day to my office, and I was really dragging. And that’s when it hit me.

I ran into a woman and her two daughters on the way. They were all beaming with pride – it was the eldest daughter’s first day of college. The mother was taking pictures of her and her sister, and I could read from her face just how big of a deal this was to her. Maybe she was the first person in her family to make it to college, maybe she is just one in a long line of family members who made it to college. I don’t know. But what I do know is that attending college, whether it is Harvard University or a public 2-year community college in California, is a big deal. I intend to make sure that all of my students feel this way too.

– George

Entry filed under: General Teaching. Tags: , , , , , .

MyMathLab’s New Instructor Exchange Study Skills Inventory Activity

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


