Using Facebook In My Classes This Fall

August 13, 2010 at 6:00 am 1 comment

This semester I am planning on increasing the use of Facebook in my math classes. I am really focusing on increasing the sense of community in my classes, and I think that Facebook can help me to do that. I chose to focus on Facebook because almost all of my students already have an account, and my students will have an easy time connecting with each other outside of class.

I have created a group page for each course I teach. I will post summaries of each topic we cover, tips for success, and homework assignments. Students will have “blogging” assignments that they will post to the Facebook group page, including a daily group summary (Top 5 list) of what happened in class. Students will be able to post (homework) questions to their classmates, and this will give students the opportunity to help each other.

My biggest goal is for students to make connections with each other inside AND outside of class. My belief is that students who feel connected will enjoy greater success in the class. I will keep you updated on the progress throughout the semester.

Next week I will share how I plan to use Twitter this semester.

Your Turn

Do you use Facebook in your classes? How do you use it? Are there any benefits that you have observed? I invite you to share your thoughts – please leave your comment or you can reach me through the contact page on my website .

-George

I am a mathematics instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Friday I will blog about technology, inside and outside of the classroom. Let me know if there are other topics you’d like me to cover by leaving a comment or by reaching me through the contact page on my website.

Entry filed under: Math, technology. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Thoughts on Equal Signs MyMathLab’s New Instructor Exchange

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


