MyMathLab’s New Dashboard

August 9, 2010 at 11:22 am 1 comment

In this summer’s update, MyMathLab changed the format of their dashboard. I must say, I like it.

At the top of the dashboard is a 7 day calendar that shows assignments that are due, as well as assignments that are coming up. This is a great visual reminder for our students.

Underneath the calendar is a Coming Soon … box. It lists upcoming assignments with their due dates. It also has a clock that shows the number of days and hours until the next assignments is due. My students loved the clock this summer. They mentioned that it was harder to procrastinate once they saw the clock. (Whatever works, right?)

On the right side of the screen is a My Results box. There is a bar that shows the students overall grade as well as a target line. The target is set at 80%, but can be changed by the instructor.

There is also a course time line scatter plot that shows scores on individual assignments over the semester. This visual representation can alert students that are losing momentum, as well as provide positive reinforcement for students who are improving.

Under this box is a My Progress box. There are bars that show student performance on each category in the grade book, including the study plan. Another great visual representation of student performance.

The only change I am not crazy about has to do with the announcements. Now only the last 2 or 3 announcements are displayed. If the announcements are too long, only part of the announcement is displayed on the page. Not to worry, there is a link that allows students to view all of the announcements for a course, and there is also a “more>” link that allows students to read the rest of a partially displayed announcement. It will not take much effort to alert students to these changes, and all will be OK.

The new front page looks great. Several students this summer commented on how slick everything looked, and they felt that all of the information was useful.

What do you think of the new dashboard and page layout? If you have any comments or questions, I encourage you to leave a comment on this blog, or reach me through the contact page at my web site – georgewoodbury.com.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Monday I post an article related to MyMathLab on my blog. If there’s a particular topic you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: Math, MyMathLab. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Full Access To StatCrunch With MyStatLab Math Class – Day 1

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Diane  |  August 12, 2010 at 8:25 am

    I love the look of the new dashboard but wish I could put items on the calendar manually. I’d like to be able to indicate which sections I’m teaching each day and it doesn’t allow me to do that. Oh well – maybe with the next update!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


