Changing Scores in MyMathLab Gradebook

April 12, 2010 at 12:50 pm Leave a comment

In this week’s installment I’m going to go over the process for changing scores in MyMathLab. Of course you can open each student’s assignment to change individual grades, but I will be going over how to apply a batch grade change for multiple students on one assignment.

Example Situation

Why would you ever want to change grades for multiple students at the same time? Suppose that you wanted to encourage your students to finish their homework prior to the due date, for example – you want student’s to turn in Tuesday night’s homework on Monday night, and you offer a 10% bonus to those who do so. (In my example I will be using the homework assignment for Section 5.5.)

Procedure

Access the Change Scores page for the assignment.

In the MyMathLab Gradebook, click on Homework, and scroll until you reach the correct assignment. Under the name of the assignment, click on the “Change Scores” link.

Sort the Scores in Descending Order

Once the Change Scores screen opens, click on “Current Correct/Total” to sort the scores in descending order. I can now select the students who have already received perfect scores by checking the box next to their name. In the example, I checked 5 students who have a perfect score.

Apply Increase/Decrease

Now I change “Decrease” to “Increase” and enter 10% for the amount of increase. (Note that you can also adjust scores by points rather than percents.) To apply the increase, click on the “Apply to Selected” button.

Scores that have been changed are denoted with an asterisk, as shown below.

Finish Updating

To finish changing those scores, you must click the “Update” button at the bottom of the page.

Other Scenarios

  • If I leave a certain type of problem out of my lecture, I will offer extra credit to students who figure out how to work the problems on their own. I count the number of problems, and increase each student’s score by that number of points. Students who learn how to do the problems get a bonus, while those who do not try them are not penalized.
  • Some instructors like to allow their students to keep working after the deadline, with a penalty. At the deadline you can select students who have not finished the assignment and decrease their score by the desired percentage or number of points.

Summary

The MyMathLab folks have added this feature to make our gradebook management more efficient. There are times when I use this feature, and it is always a time saver. If you can think of any other features that would be helpful to you, try logging into the community boards at mymathlab.com. They are very responsive to our input.

If you have any questions on this feature, or if you’d like to share how you use this feature, leave a comment or email me through the contact page on my website.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Monday I post an article related to MyMathLab on my blog. If there’s a particular study skill you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: Math, MyMathLab. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Follow Up – Self Generated Early Alerts Pass The Pen – Math Activity For Kinesthetic Learners

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories


