Follow Up – Self Generated Early Alerts

April 9, 2010 at 9:16 am Leave a comment

Just a quick follow up to my April 7 Blog on Self Generated Early Alert reports. My students turned in their reports yesterday, and their summaries fell into one of three groups.

  1. I’m really happy with how well I am doing. My hard work on the quizzes and homework are paying off. I am really confident that I will pass this course.
  2. My test scores are strong, but my quiz scores are on the low side. I need to retake the quizzes, rather than just going over my errors. Several students mentioned that they had gotten a little lazy in this respect, and vowed to “turn it on” for the last 6 weeks of class.
    (My students take their quizzes on MyMathLab. They are able to retake them as many times as they would like up until the deadline. Only the highest score counts.)
  3. I had no idea how much impact my quiz scores were having on my overall grade. Thanks for bringing this to my attention. I will get this under control the rest of the way.

These were all good results. The successful students were able to give themselves a pat on the back. Students who were not giving their fullest effort were made aware of this fact while there is still time to rectify the situation. Students who were unaware of the impact of their quiz scores on their overall grade were made aware of this – much better than finding out when they receive their final grade.

In a later post I will share some of their exact quotes.

So again I ask – How do you let your students know how they are doing? Do you require your students to reflect on their performance? On their level of understanding? I’d love to hear about them. Post your ideas as a comment, or email suggestions through the contact page on my website.

-George

I am a mathematics instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Let me know if there are other topics you’d like me to cover. You can email suggestions through the contact page on my website.

Entry filed under: General Teaching, Math. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Early Alert – Is Self Generated Better? Changing Scores in MyMathLab Gradebook

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories


