MyMathLab – New Homework Approach – Test 3 Update

April 5, 2010 at 5:39 am 1 comment

It’s the first day back from Spring Break, so I thought I’d begin with an update on my new approach with MyMathLab in Elementary Algebra.

As I have blogged previously (on February 1) I have started a new approach in my elementary algebra class that changed the way I use MyMathLab.

The quick recap:

  • MML HW for each section worth 0%.
  • Section HW score of at least 85% is required to access the section quiz, using the prerequisite feature.
  • MML Quizzes worth 20% of overall grade – section quizzes, chapter quizzes, Student Learning Outcome (SLO) quizzes.
  • Pencil & Paper work is worth 10% – weekly HW assignments & regular in class assessments.
  • Traditional exams & cumulative final exam worth 70%.

I gave the third test (systems of linear equations) just before spring break, and the results were once again really strong. The test was on the challenging side. There were a couple of conceptual questions that asked students to draw lines associated with a particular type of system (inconsistent; independent with a solution of (5,1) ). There were systems with fractional coefficients. There were systems that were inconsistent, others that were dependent. There were 4 application problems – perimeter, coin, interest, chemical mixture.

Of the 44 students that took the exam there were 14 A’s (31.8%), 10 B’s, 10 C’s, 4 D’s, and 6 F’s. That’s 34 out of 44, or 77.3%, that passed the exam. The mean score was 78 out of 100 and the median score was 81.

As I mentioned before, it continues to be a joy to walk around the class and see that these students really are understanding the material. They come to class fully prepared, and are actively participating in each class session. They are taking responsibility for their own learning. All that remains to be determined is whether the new homework/quiz approach is contributing to their performance.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Monday I post an article related to MyMathLab on my blog. If there’s a particular study skill you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

Entry filed under: Math, MyMathLab. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Spring Break Blog Hiatus Math Study Skills – Creating Practice Quizzes

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mary Beth  |  April 5, 2010 at 6:02 am

    Goerge, I like the idea of using the homework as prerequisites for quizzes without credit given for the homework set. I do it the other way and it seems as if I am awarding credit for the same problem set twice.

    Good idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Categories


