Day 2 at ICTCM

March 12, 2010 at 6:05 pm Leave a comment

Today was another great day at ICTCM. I started off the day by participating in a focus group for MyStatLab. There are some great improvements on the way, especially relating to inferential problems. There was a great deal of discussion about conceptual understanding and the incorporation of technology. They are definitely on the right track.

I then went to a Camtasia workshop that was hosted by Rose Jenkins from Midlands Technical College. I found out how to avoid the “auto zoom” problem I was having when creating videos. That was so frustrating for me, I feel much better now. I probably should have been to one of Rose’s prior workshops. I can say that she must be an outstanding teacher, she did a fantastic job in her workshop!

I also got to attend Maria Anderson’s talk – “Mathmatweets”. If you don’t know Maria she is an outstanding resource on incorporating Web 2.0 tools into our classes. She has a great website (Teaching College Math) and I consider her a must follow on Twitter: @busynessgirl.

I agree with her – there are two ways that we can all benefit from using Twitter. First, we can learn so much from each other. I have been on Twitter for a short time (@georgewoodbury) and have picked up so many great ideas that I don’t know how I survived my pre-Twitter days. There have been great discussions about educational topics (try #edchat each Tuesday), and I have learned about so many software tools through #edtech.

Twitter can have a great impact on student learning as well. It is a tool, in conjunction with Jing, to send information to students. It also gives your students a way to communicate with you and their fellow classmates.

I finished my day with another focus group; this one focused on my upcoming textbook. We have what I feel are some great ideas, but as usual, the ideas from the participants were even better. I know we are on the right track to really make an impact on student learning. I feel so fortunate to be part of a wonderful team!

I’m giving a couple of talks tomorrow, and will be sitting in a few as well. I’ll let you know how it goes.

-George

Entry filed under: Math, MyMathLab, technology. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Day 1 At ICTCM On Tap at ICTCM, Day 3

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories


