MyMathLab – Posting Your Own Materials

March 8, 2010 at 12:20 pm 1 comment

In this article I’ll give a brief overview of how to post your own materials to your MyMathLab course, as well as share some types of materials you may want to post.

How To Post Your Own Materials

Before we start, take note of the name on the button which leads you to your eBook. With some textbooks it is labeled as “eBook”, for others it is labeled as “Chapter Contents”. In this article I will assume it is labeled as eBook.

After accessing your Control Panel, click on the link for the eBook. You will see links to some tools, as well as links to all of the chapters. Across the top of the page you will see the following buttons:

  • Add Item
    Use this button to add a single document to the site.
  • Add Folder
    Use this button to add a folder to the site. This is a useful way to organize the material you post by type, by chapter, by exam, …
    It’s a nice way to keep your material separated from the publisher provided content.
    Once you create a folder, clicking on it takes you to a screen that allows you to add items to the folder.
  • Add External Link
    Use this button to add an internet link to your site, such as a link to a site containing graph paper for students to print out or a link to a Youtube video you have posted.

When you add an item, folder, or link, MyMathLab puts it at the bottom of the page. I like to move the new material to the top. This can be accomplished by renumbering the items.

What To Post

I post several types of items to my MyMathLab course.

  • Assignments
    I have weekly assignments that my students do by hand and turn in. I used to post them as Word documents, but I have found that converting them to pdf’s saves a lot of grief.
  • Projects
    If I have a project for my students to work on I post it to the MyMathLab site. This includes projects such as newsletters, solution manuals, posters, experiments, and group projects. Again, I like to post them as pdf’s.
  • Practice Tests
    By posting practice tests or quizzes on MyMathLab, students have to seek these out. I have found that students are more likely to use the practice test to prepare when they have to go get it instead of me handing them out in class.
  • Solutions
    By being able to post solutions on MyMathLab, I can give out a practice test and give my students time to work on the practice test without having the answer key to look at. Also, I can provide my students with complete step-by-step solutions.
  • Videos
    I have been posting links to Youtube videos in which I walk through 2 or 3 problems that traditionally give students a hard time. Students have told me that watching the video prior to starting the assignment is a great warm up.
  • External Links
    I do post links to graph paper sites, as well as to sites on particular topics that I feel will be helpful to my students.

If you have any questions about posting your own materials, or you have different materials that you post and would like to share, leave a comment or drop me a line through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

-George

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. Each Monday I post an article related to MyMathLab on my blog. If there’s a particular study skill you’d like me to address, or if you have a question or a comment, please let me know. You can reach me through the contact page on my website – http://georgewoodbury.com.

I am off to ICTCM this week, so I imagine I’ll have lots of innovative ideas to share next week!

Entry filed under: Math, MyMathLab. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Moving Towards Web 2.0 – Algebra Exam Review Math Study Skills – How to Read a Mathematics Textbook

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Susan  |  March 9, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    I recommend Jing for free and easy videos – you don’t need to upload to Youtube, just use the provided link and it posts in your site.

    See you at ICTCM!

    Twitter – MathyChick

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories


