MyMathLab – Item Analysis (Monday 11/16/09)

November 16, 2009 at 5:17 pm 2 comments

This week I’ve decided to focus on one of my favorite Gradebook tools – Item Analysis.

What exactly is Item Analysis?

Item Analysis is a tool that allows you to take the pulse of your students. Which problems are they struggling with? Which problems do they have under control? Item Analysis can tell you. Here are the results of an Item Analysis for a recent homework assignment.

I can see that my students had a hard time with questions 21 & 29 in Section 7.3. I can use this information during the next class session, reviewing similar problems.

Starting an Item Analysis

You can run an item analysis for any MyMathLab homework assignment or quiz. Start by finding the assignment you want to investigate inside your MML Gradebook. Next to the assignment you will find a little blue box labeled “IA”, as shown below. Click on the box to get started.

Options

If you run an Item Analysis on a quiz, you have some options. You can generate the report based on

  • all attempts for all students
  • one attempt per student based on their best score
  • one attempt per student based on their most recent score

How I Use Item Analysis

After each assignment is due, whether it is a quiz or a homework assignment, I run an Item Analysis. (For the quizzes, I use one attempt per student based on their best score.) For some assignments I will address questions the very next day. For other assignments I will use the information to help form the review session and/or review materials for the upcoming exam.

Summary

Item Analysis can give you instant feedback concerning the progress of your students. I highly recommend incorporating its use into your overall MyMathLab strategy. If you have any questions on this function or its use, leave me a comment or send me an email.

Note – MyMathLab related articles appear every Monday.

I am a math instructor at College of the Sequoias in Visalia, CA. If there are topics you’d like me to address in future MyMathLab articles, send in your requests through the contact page on my web site. – George

Entry filed under: MyMathLab. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Roulette – A Nearly Perfect Game (Friday 11/13/09) Study Skills – Doing Homework, Creating Note Cards (Tuesday 11/17/09)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mary Beth Orrange  |  September 20, 2010 at 3:25 pm

    Thanks George … I never even noticed the blue IA next on the screen!

    Mary Beth

    Reply
  • […] day, and I had a light bulb moment. If the quiz is due before the review day, a quick look at the Item Analysis can help me to decide how to shape my review. I know which problems gave my students a hard time […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Jan »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Categories


