MyMathLab – Practice Tests

March 17, 2009 at 10:52 am Leave a comment

So, I was sitting in a conference room the other day and the presenter was speaking about MyMathLab. She mentioned something about practice tests andd my mind started to drift away. I often get my best ideas this way. (I sometimes get my worst ideas this way too.)

Currently my developmental math classes are focusing on practice tests as a study skill. I got the idea to have groups of students make up their own practice tests that I would post on MyMathLab. In my elementary algebra class this will give me 10 different practice tests.

I gave my students a list of the available problems, along with the objectives, for the material we’ve covered. I also gave some general guidelines.

  • The test must be a fair length: 15 or more problems.
  • The test should be varied.
  • The level of difficulty should be appropriate for an in-class exam.

My students now have two nights to try as many of these practice tests as possible. For each practice test that they pass, I am adding 1 point to their test score.

Will it work? I’ll let you know after Thursday’s exam.

Entry filed under: Math, Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

ICTCM 2009 Thoughts on Using MyMathLab to Supplement a Traditional Math Class

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,501 other followers

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


